HOW TO CLEAR AN ABSENCE
Attendance Office Hours: (Monday - Friday) 7:15 a.m. - 3:45 p.m.
Phone: (310) 533-4396 Ext: 7970
FAX: (310) 972-6416
Parents/Legal Guardians and Students: We encourage you to check “PowerSchool” on a regular basis for attendance. Parents/Legal Guardians - please do not call in your student’s absence as NO absences will be cleared by phone or by a phone message. A NOTE OF EXCUSE IS REQUIRED FOR ALL ABSENCES. Parents/Legal Guardians, may also FAX their student’s note of excuse to: (310) 972-6416.
Your absence excuse note is due the day you return to school and before attending any classes.
Upon your arrival to school, please bring your excuse note to the Attendance Office. It is your responsibility to arrive early enough to come into the Attendance Office and still be on time to class. We do not write tardy passes. Please hand your note to a staff member in the Attendance Office.
For your convenience, please “click” this link for the Torrance High — ABSENCE-EXCUSE-NOTE-TEMPLATE
*Due to COVID-19 concerns, our absence note submission policy has been temporarily adjusted. Absence notes must be emailed from the parent/guardian listed in PowerSchool to Omoto.Elaine@tusd.org and Zisspatton.Eva@tusd.org. Please include student’s name, ID#, absence dates, periods missed, and reason for absence.
YOUR NOTE MUST INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING
(INK ONLY PLEASE & EVEN IF THE STUDENT IS 18 YEARS OF AGE):
1. Student’s full name
2. Student’s ID number and Grade Level
3. Full date(s) of absence(s) and periods missed
4. Reason for absence
5. Parent/Legal Guardian Signature
6. Relationship to the student
7. Parent/Legal Guardian phone number where they can be reached
8. Please attach any doctor’s note(s) to your student’s excuse note. When a student has been absent for 5 school days or longer (due to illness, injury, surgery, etc), a doctor’s note is required, and must state the date that the student is able to return to school.
COMPULSORY SCHOOL ATTENDANCE
What are the school attendance requirements in California?
• Every person between the ages of six (6) years and eighteen (18) years of age is required to attend school. (Education Code 48200)
• Students are expected to attend school regularly and on time.
• Parents and guardians are required to send their children to school.
• When students do not attend punctually or are absent the entire school day, the reason must be identified and recorded as either Excused or Unexcused. Excused absences are compliant with compulsory attendance law; Unexcused absences are noncompliant and subject to truancy law after three incidents.
POWERSCHOOL ATTENDANCE CODES
We post student attendance according to the State of California Ed Code. Nothing has changed for your student, as attendance is documented in our records and in PowerSchool. If you notified the Attendance Office (by email or fax-due to the COVID-19 restrictions) within 48 hours of an absence and see a “U” posted, the absence is considered Verified - but- DOES NOT meet the Education Code.
E = Verified absences, reason aligns with Educational Code
U = Verified absence, reason DOES NOT meet Educational Code
T = Truant, missing from class period
L = Tardy to class, less than 30 minutes late
A = Absence, still needs to be cleared within 48 hours
What is considered a valid, legal absence?
• Absences are EXCUSED for the following reasons, when verified:
• A student’s illness (not parent’s or another family member).
• Quarantine under the direction of a county or city health officer.
• Medical, dental, optometric, or chiropractic appointments.
• Attending the funeral of an immediate family member: one (1) day in California; three (3) days out of California. Immediate family member means student’s mother/father, brother/sister, child, grandmother/grandfather, or spouse, spouse’s mother/father, spouse’s child, spouse’s brother/sister, or any relative living in the immediate household of the student (Education Code 48205).
• Court appearance when the student has a subpoena with his/her name on it.
• Religious holiday/retreat/ceremony (max of four (4) hours per semester) with prior written request from parent and approval from school.
• Verified absence due to illness or quarantine is allowed. Verification may be by one of the following: school/public health nurse, attendance supervisor, physician, teacher, or any other qualified employee of the school district. (Education Code 46011, CCR Title 5, Sec. 421)
• To attend his/her naturalization ceremony to become a United States citizen.
IF YOU NEGLECT TO SUBMIT YOUR NOTE OF EXCUSE
1. Your absence will be marked “TRUANT.”
2. You will then have 48 hours or (two) additional days to clear the TRUANT by bringing in your excuse note.
3. If we have not received a note by 3:00 p.m. on the third day of your return to school, the TRUANT will remain.
HOW TO GET AN OFF-CAMPUS-PASS
For your convenience, please “click” this link for the THS-OFF-CAMPUS-PASS--REQUEST FORM-TEMPLATE
1. Please bring a note signed by your parent or legal guardian stating your full name, grade level & ID number, date, dismissal time, reason for leaving campus early (doctor/dental/optometric appointment, personal, etc.), how you will be leaving campus (driving self, parent pick-up, walking), and, if you will be returning to campus (reminder-students leaving for “personal or illness” reasons cannot return to school the same day).
2. Please hand your Off-Campus-Pass request to a staff member in the Attendance Office. Off-Campus-Pass requests are due in the Attendance Office BEFORE 7:50 a.m.
3. The staff member in the Attendance Office will phone your parent/legal guardian to confirm the Off-Campus-Pass request.
4. Come back to the Attendance Office at snack, lunch, or in between classes to pick up your Off-Campus-Pass.
NO OFF-CAMPUS-PASSES WILL BE ISSUED DURING FINAL EXAMS
IF YOU BECOME ILL AT SCHOOL
Students: Please DO NOT text or call your parents asking them to contact the school. Please speak to your teacher about getting a pass to come and see the Health Office personnel. Our school LVN or Health Services Assistant, will call your parent/legal guardian and arrange for the Off-Campus-Pass (OCP).
IF YOU HAVE A 6th PERIOD SPORT
1. 6th period SPORT IS A CLASS. When you use the “athletic” sticker on your ID to leave campus, you are expected to attend the athletic class. If you are not going to attend, you must get an Off-Campus-Pass (OCP) in the manner described above BEFORE 6TH PERIOD.
2. You must get an Off-Campus-Pass (OCP) even if you have made prior arrangements with your Coach.
3. Leaving campus and then not attending your sport, will result in a “WALK-OFF-TRUANCY” and assigned a Saturday School Detention. This TRUANT (see below ) cannot be “cleared” after-the-fact, even if the parent/legal guardian provides a note.
Parents/Legal Guardians: Please be aware, any student leaving school without prior approval- and-a “OFF-CAMPUS-PASS” (including student-athletes leaving 6th period for appointments) will be issued a “TRUANT.” This TRUANT cannot be cleared. NO EXCEPTIONS Students may be cited by the Torrance Police for truancy. Students leaving campus without permission will be issued a “Truant” absence for the class (or classes) and assigned a Saturday School Detention.
Regular attendance and being on time are requirements for a successful high school experience and future success after high school. California State Law requires daily school attendance to the age of eighteen unless the California High School Proficiency Test has been passed, or until graduation. We encourage continued parent/legal guardian support to promote good school attendance and student achievement. Regular school attendance is the most valuable gift you can give your student.