English Language Arts


3 Key Shifts

3 Key Shifts in Common Core ELA Standards

The following are key shifts called for by the Common Core:

  1. Regular practice with complex texts and their academic language 

  2. Reading, writing, and speaking grounded in evidence from texts, both literary and informational 

  3. Building knowledge through content-rich nonfiction 

Click here for more information about the 3 key shifts in Common Core ELA Standards.


Common Core Standards for English Language Arts

The Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects help ensure that all students are literate and college and career ready no later than the end of high school. 

Students Who Are College and Career Ready in Reading, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Language

  • They Demonstrate Independence. 
  • They Build Strong Content Knowledge. 
  • They Respond to the Varying Demands of Audience, Task, Purpose, and Discipline. 
  • They Comprehend as well as Critique.
  • They Value Evidence. 
  • They use Technology and Digital Media Strategically and Capably. 
  • They come to Understand other Perspectives and Cultures.  

Reading at Home and RAZ-Kids

Carr Elementary uses Raz-Kids which is an online guided reading program with interactive ebooks, downloadable books, and reading quizzes.  This program encourages close reading skills along with the reading and writing connection with interactive tools and constructed response quiz questions.  Students can also use RAZ-Kids at home.

Click here to login to RAZ-Kids.

Click here for more information about RAZ-Kids. 


TUSD Recommended Reading

Recommended Literature: Incoming Kindergarten through 5th grade.  Click here!